Trump’s White House snubs April Ryan (again) by not inviting her to its annual holiday party

[ Originally published on this site as post ]

If there are two groups that Donald Trump has consistently waged war on since announcing his candidacy for president, they are people of color and the press. Add women to the mix, and you end up with a politician who has disdain for the majority of the American people. Unsurprisingly, he has taken these wars with him to the White House and routinely invokes them to stir up his base. We’ve seen him lash out a different times at all of these groups—black athletes, Puerto Rican mayors, female Democratic leaders who publicly call him out, newspapers and networks that don’t suck up to him. This list goes on and on. And then there are the instances when all three of these wars can be condensed neatly into one target.

This is most certainly the case with veteran White House reporter April Ryan. Who knows exactly when Trump and company began their petty one-sided feud with Ryan. From asking Ryan if she could arrange a meeting with him and the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) to Press Secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders routinely coming for Ryan in the daily press briefings, there is a pattern of animosity toward Ryan that can only be explained by this administration’s hatred of women, people of color and the press. This week, they continued on in their attempts to punish Ryan, by not inviting her to the White House holiday party

April Ryan, the black woman the White House loves to hate on, will not be going to the scary White House white-walking winter wonder-klan for its annual Christmas party—for the first time in 20 years.

The NAACP tweeted the news Wednesday morning, saying that Ryan was not invited.

This isn’t exactly a bad thing for Ryan—except for the message that it sends. Nothing could possibly be worse than being forced to socialize with Trump and his ghastly crew of associates under the guise of holiday cheer. But it is insulting to a woman who has covered the White House during the tenure of four different presidents.